Best Small Fictions


The Best Small Fictions is the first ever contemporary anthology solely dedicated to anthologizing the best internationally published short hybrid fiction in a given calendar year. Now in its eighth year of existence, Best Small Fictions features the best micro fiction, flash fiction, haibun stories and prose poetry from around the world.
Founded by Tara L. Masih, Best Small Fictions is now steered by series editor Nathan Leslie, who has served in this role since 2019. Guest editors have included Pulitzer Prize-winning Robert Olen Butler (2015), PEN/Malamud Award winner Stuart Dybek (2016),  Pen/Malamud Award winner Amy Hempel (2017), two-time Pushcart Prize winner Aimee Bender (2018) PEN/Faulkner nominee Rilla Askew (2019), Elaine Chiew (2022) and Rion Amilcar Scott (2021).


Editors are encouraged to send their five best works of flash and micro fiction, haibun stories and prose poems published in 2022. Submissions open on November 15th  and run until January 31st. We encourage an eclectic array of styles and approaches. We love work featuring memorable imagery, characterization and language.

Submissions should be within 1000 words, however this is an approximate guideline and we ask editors to use their own discretion. Submissions may be submitted as word documents, pdfs, or links to the published work.

Please send submissions to

Best Small Fictions Editors & Advisory Board 2023

Guest Editor:
    Louise Umutoni-Bower
Series Editor:
    Nathan Leslie
Managing Editor:
    Michelle Elvy
Assistant Editors:
    Amy Barnes
    Myna Chang
    Doris Cheng
    Charles Rammelkamp
Consulting Editor:
    Richard Peabody


Senior General Advisory Board:
    Michael Cocchiarale
    Kathy Fish
    X. J. Kennedy
    Pamela Painter
    Robert Shapard
    James Thomas
    Clare MacQueen
    Gisele Gehre Bomfim
    April Stettner
Founding Editor:
    Tara Lynn Masih